Chicago Educator’s Curriculum Equity Strategy Recommendations for CPS

Educators' recommendations for removing barriers to Chicago Public Schools’ Skyline curriculum.

March 2023

Bolstered by national research, E4E believes that a universal curriculum can be a powerful lever for driving equitable student experiences and outcomes. In 2021, Chicago Public Schools unveiled Skyline, the district’s first-ever universal curriculum resource that is culturally-responsive and tailored to the needs of Chicago students. Founder & co-CEO, Evan Stone said, “It has the potential to be one of the most significant district-wide policy changes in decades.”

However, from listening to our membership, organizers learned that the roll out of Skyline has areas it needs to improve. E4E organizers surveyed and interviewed CPS teachers at school visits and networking events about their experience implementing the district curriculum from September through December 2022. Teachers at Skyline-implementing schools had concerns regarding implementation support, student accessibility, and material quality.

Read E4E-Chicago’s policy paper on the importance of equity in curriculum access. Download policy paper.

About the Teacher Action Team

Educators for Excellence’s Curriculum Equity Strategy Recommendations were co-developed by E4E-Chicago’s Skyline Teacher Action Team made up of CPS teachers at Skyline-implementing schools. These recommendations aim to ensure that CPS’ curriculum equity strategy has the best chance of success and provides all students with differentiated, relevant learning every day.

With gratitude and acknowledgement for The Skyline Teacher Action Team:
Angela Davis, Nash Elementary School
Chanika Moody, Mays Elementary School
Charese Munoz, Stagg Elementary School
Christine Ramirez, Corkery Elementary School
Corinne Lydon, Nash Elementary School
Darius Nix, Impact Director, City Year
Elizabeth Levinson, Phillips Academy High School
Kayla Metcalf, Horizon Science Academy Mckinley
Linda Burnette, Nash Elementary School
Lyudmyla Amundson, Nash Elementary School
Steven Tadlock, Nash Elementary School
Winnie Williams-Hall, PhD, Nicholson STEM Academy